Tags

, , , , , , ,

Having a wood burning stove to heat part of our house is a great advantage but also takes a lot of work in the collecting sticks department. One of my weekly tasks it to take my trusty bin on a string and the dog and go out into the woods and pick up twigs and dead branches. We use twigs and smaller pieces of wood as kindling to get a roaring coal bed going that will produce heat through out the evening for us. So you can imagine what our garage looks like in winter time…  well, like someone sawed up a tree in it! This drives me crazy so I decided to sketch out a plan and make a “twig storage box.”

In our building projects we’ve discovered that using 2″ x 2″ x 8′ pine furring strips for about a buck each can be a very cheap way of getting things done. As long as it won’t be load bearing, these are a great way to frame things up. We extended our chicken run with them this fall. Therefore I planned this box design around using them.

fur strip.JPG

I am by no means a carpenter or someone that is good at thinking things through. However, I am really good at getting ideas and then passing them off to my husband to make them happen… 🙂 And that’s exactly what I did. I bought a bundle of these furring strips unloaded them into the garage and explained to Joe what I wanted.

box

This is what I drew up at work

I drew up some plans at the office, but Joe got to work before I ever printed them out and brought them home.

20160215_193013

a5fbd818-1b47-4b9b-bcd8-ce00f4b75965

1a84f37b-4d75-4d89-bd2c-450c73d1e704.jpg

You can see how he’s added supports and properly constructed this thing!

My original idea was to have it be an 8’W x 4’D x 3’H box. Joe looked at me a bit like a crazy lady and explained that would make a suitable casket for an elephant, but is a little big for a stick box. He took the plans into his own hands and made it a bit smaller and a bit stronger. We decided to use leftover lattice that we had bought for another project for the sides, keeping this box lightweight enough to be moved if we needed to. The bottom is also an old sheet of left over pegboard that was in the barn. You can get a bundle of lattice for about $5 at Menards. The length was built to the full length of the lattice. The width is that of half – this reduced cutting and wasted wood. (Builder Tip: You can stack the lattice, put it in a vice and cut multiple pieces at once).

And voila! The final results!

20160308_183418

Of course I’ve already done my part and filled it with sticks!

20160308_183408

I think it needs some paint…and chicken stencils…

Its amazing how it turned out to be just as I imagined it and with spending less than $10 on materials! Having these 2×2’s and left over lattice around seems to be a handy way of making simple projects happen quickly, easily and on the cheap. Pick up a few before summer gets here!

 

