Tags

, , , ,

Strawberries seem to be one of those plants that just never seem to go away. Unless you are me that is. Year after year I hear people talk about their strawberries and how they couldn’t kill them if they tried. And I think to myself, what the hell am I doing wrong!When I was a kid we had a strawberry patch in the backyard and I have very few images from my memory of strawberries in there. I have many more memories of us digging it up and making a manhole fort out of it.

So when we moved in to our farm here, there was a raised bed with strawberries in it. I though, oh how great! I saw one little berry sprout up last year and the next time I looked in on them it was gone without any other prospective plants popping up. So this year I got a little shopping happy with the seed catalogs over the winter and ordered 35 strawberry plants. I am determined to replant that bed and get strawberries out of it! I hate store bought berries but fresh ones from the garden are worth eating! I thought I’d share some of the before and after redoing my strawberry bed. Joe of course helped bring in compost and turn over the soil and even planted a few before throwing in the towel and leaving the rest up to me.

22257f4d-7fbe-450e-8651-fc3105d35f88

Before

457a2c69-a007-46b1-bfd5-15919ff9017e

After compost was added Joe started planting

fdb50e8f-641f-4f9e-bddd-68c58a4d3463

Let’s hope these little guys grow and thrive for us this year!

