Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In my recent canning experience I discovered someone in our family just looooves beets! It’s not Joe or I, but Mr. Basil dog! Here on the farm we compost what we can and with that we end up with buckets of veggie scraps hanging around until one of us walks them to the compost pile. As I was feeding the chickens and locking them up for the night, I noticed Basil’s paws had turned red!

basil

Of course I had a million thoughts, “why is his blood that color, where did he cut himself, what did he do…?” Then I saw he was munching on something…

20160629_202535

It was beet ends!! He was pulling beet ends that I cut off out of our compost bucket! This dog loves vegetables! He was obsessed too, he just kept pulling them out and munching down. Of course I immediately googled if it was safe for dogs to eat beets and here is what I found.

Yes! They are 100% safe and very beneficial!!

  • Red beets are high in nutrients and low in calories, which is great for a tasty snack for a dog
  • The beta lain and key nutrients such as folate, vitamin C, manganese, potassium, phosphorus, copper, magnesium, iron, and more, gives red beets the ability to provide antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification support.
  • Beets are a natural anti-inflammatory and detoxifier. They help with skin allergies, scratching, itching, bumps and ear infections.
  • They help boost metabolism
  • They help prevent infections and disease
  • Cook your beets as dogs cannot properly digest raw veggies. (just boil them for 15-20 min)

One idea is to dehydrate them and crumble them up and add to the dog’s food. I unfortunately pickled all our beets otherwise I’d try it. Maybe later in the season we can get a second crop going and I’ll try this. Anyone out there have any experience with dehydrating beets for your dogs?

 

