Tags

, , , , , , ,

Our newest adventure in livestock has proven to be bundles of warmth and joy. But this week, we got a little more than we bargained for. In a way I might be slightly thankful. They were just collecting the seeds so they wouldn’t spread and germinate throughout the field right…?

sheep-bad1sheepbad2shhe3

These two figured out how to cross the bridge and venture out into the field. At first I thought the white one was covered in mud until I realized Mr. Beasley looked half his size. It was burrs. Every livestock/horse owners worst enemy. This is the equivalent of pulling pounds of bubblegum out of a little girls hair. Hair that was once beautiful and soft.

I spent the week trying different things to get these buggers out. I tried corn oil. Poured corn oil all over Mr. Beasley and just wound up with a greasy sheep! I then tried every horse lover’s saving grace, ShowSheen. Nope, still didn’t work. Now I just had two annoyed funny smelling sheep. I sat down with a comb for 3 hours and was able to get Mr. Beasley clean from his head down to his chest. Although he was being a saint and was falling asleep while I picked burrs out, his patience was running out and so was my husband’s.

file__storage_extsdcard_dcim_camera_20160917_133516

Off to get the scissors! I didn’t want to cut them out or shave the sheep being so close to chillier temperatures and winter around the corner so I snipped away the burrs as best I could. A few days later and they were burr free!!

To try to avoid this happening again, I ordered them some Sheep Tubes (basically a stretchy coat).

file__storage_extsdcard_dcim_camera_20160922_181126

And as you would expect…it didn’t help much at all… 2 days later…

New better covering coats are on the way and me and the scissors are bonding again. These burrs are the worst thing ever! If I find a better way to avoid this situation I will post about it.

