Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

We have our wonderful grape vines that have amazingly survived and are producing. Out of the four original plants, last year we only had one produce leaves and grapes. This year, that one gave us grapes, but two others started sprouting green leaves again. No fruit on them this year but hopefully next year.
Having leftover grape jelly from last year I decided to try something else this year. I contemplated making a grape pie, which is something I’ve never even thought of or grape syrup. Grape syrup won. Here is what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 3-4cups of concord grapes
  • 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup

Prep:

  1.  Cook grapes over medium heat in a saucepan.
  2.  Remove from heat when they start to break open from the skin.
  3.  Pour grapes in a bowl and use a potato masher to complete breaking them down.
  4.  Place your sloppy grape mess into a strainer/sieve and push down to get all juices out. Toss the skins and seeds.
  5.  Add juices back into saucepan and bring to a light boil. Mix in sugar and corn syrup and simmer until thick.

I ended up water bathing mine for 5-10 minutes and it made 3 pint jars worth.

I’ve been using this syrup over vanilla ice cream and it is delicious! I never would have chosen grape syrup over raspberry or strawberry but it is my new favorite.

file__storage_extsdcard_dcim_camera_20160908_200928

Recepie taken from, Wikihow.com, recipe here

