Tags

, , , , , ,

My husband and I have different opinions on how the finer things in life should be done. Such as painting over hinges and hardware on doors. He can’t stand painting over hinges. I don’t care. He has the mindset of if you are going to do it, do it right, while I have the mindset of lets just get this done as quickly as possible. I must say, this being the third time we’ve encountered this problem, I think he might just be right.

So, if you are like me and have painted over all your hinges or door hardware and you have a husband who wishes you hadn’t done so, I will let you in on how to fix it.

The first step is do it right the first time. But failing that, take your freshly painted hinges off the door and the door frame. Next, place them in a jar. We used a large Ball jar left over from canning season. Then, submerge the Ball jar with the hinges in them in a boiling pot of water with baking soda. Boil this for 15-20 min until you can see the paint wrinkling up and starting to peel.

After your timer has gone off, remove the submerged Ball jar using tongs and dump the water out and pull out the hinges. It may look like nothing has happened yet, but as you take a washcloth to the hinges and rub a little bit, you will see that the paint just comes right off! It’s amazing! Now, dry them all off, and re-attach them to your doors and hand your doors. Enjoy your pretty renovated hinges!20170219_132750.jpg

