Tags

, , , , , ,

As a kid I remember my mother making homemade pasta. Mostly because my brother and I would sneak into the kitchen and snag the doughy pasta as it was drying on the racks. Having a few extra minutes on my hands now-a-days I decided to make my first batch of noodles as an adult. It seemed well worth it when I was done. Also, our chickens add a little fun to it…  Here is how I did it:

Ingredients:

  • 2 to 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 egg yolks and 1 whole egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil or olive oil
  • All-purpose flour

 

Step 1: In a large bowl stir 1-3/4 cups of the flour and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture.

  • In a small bowl combine egg yolks and whole egg, the water, and oil. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture, stirring to combine.

The dough gets very very sticky here but will smooth out as you knead it.

Step 2: Sprinkle a clean kneading surface with the remaining flour. Place dough onto floured surface. Knead the dough until smooth and elastic (8 to 10 minutes total).

Step 3: Cover the dough and let rest for 10 minutes.

Step 4: Cut the dough into 4 equal portions

Step 5: Roll out the dough

20170411_115600

Step 6: Here is where if you have a pasta maker you can run it through the machine or you can roll the dough and slice it into 1/4″ sections. Then roll out the cut sections and lay to dry.

I have my mothers pasta maker so I choose to use it here. When you use the maker, make sure to roll the dough through at the largest thickness 2X before going down to the next thickness until you have your desired thickness.

Take the dough and run it through the other end of the pasta machine (cutter) and you will end up with your noodles.

Hang noodles to dry completely before storing them or cooking them.

Our noodles came out very yellow compared to when I was a kid. You can thank our chickens for that. The yolks are so bright and orange this time of year 🙂

 

